Bare Bones

Recently, I’ve been off on a bit of an odd tangent. Bleaching bones in sinks and scrubbing them with toothbrushes wasn’t something that I had really dreamt I would be doing when it first struck me that I wanted to be a photographer. But recently, thats been a part and parcel of life in preparation for shooting a series of work that I started a few weeks ago.

My parents had thought I was equally as odd when I visited home and ended up buying random boxes of animal bones on eBay whilst there. These are what I ultimately ended up bleaching, trying to rescue some bones that had been subjected to the elements for rather too long to look good photographically.

Selecting some of the more interesting shapes, with lots of shapes and textures that would look good with some lighting thrown into the mix was the reletively easy part. It was the hanging the bones to shoot that was the difficult task. Hanging them from fishing wire a few inches from the background and making small adjustments, back to camera to see what was going on and then starting all over again seemed like an endless process. In some cases, patience paid off, even if it took me 2 hours to get the placing, but other times the whole thing would just come down after a knot worked loose and it got the better of me.

I wanted to explore the shapes and forms of the bones in as simpler form as possible. My later efforts are my favorites (which I have included in this post).

Bones seem to be something that generations of artists and photographers have looked at. They never seem to stop going through phases. This was my phase, and I give you my body of work on bones; ANATOMY.

Copyright Edward Fury - not for use of any kind without permission

Copyright Edward Fury – not for use of any kind without permission

Copyright Edward Fury - not for use of any kind without permission

Copyright Edward Fury – not for use of any kind without permission

Leave a Reply

